Book Review: Savage Light

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000448_00034]ebook: Savage Light
Publisher: Smashwords Edition
Date: February 24th 2015
ISBN: 9781311538260
My Review Copy: Received by the author in exchange for an honest review.

 Amazon | Goodreads | B&N

Marsa has always struggled with the fact she goes unnoticed. Her best friend is the one chosen to rid the world of all evil; the man Marsa loves barely knows she exists; and her sole remaining family member dies at the hand of the last evil man in the world.

When all evil is finally defeated, Marsa thinks she’ll at last have the life she wants, even if her mother isn’t there to share it with. And maybe she’ll discover the love of her life loves her back. Only a new quest is set before her and her friends. By the end of their journey, Marsa will question everything she knows. She’ll have to redefine how she wants others to notice her, before their entire world is destroyed.

The Good…:

Author Janeal Falor follows up her novel, Ever Darkening, with the companion novel Savage Light. In Savage Light, Falor tells the events that occurred in the first novel from Kaylyn’s best friend Marsa’s point of view. The two girls are members of a group that try to eradicate evil from the world, but are unaware that there are dire consequences to their actions. Their team is called to a neighboring village to provide assistance when they realize that evil may be harder to defeat than they originally believed.

The characters in Savage Light are people you want to root for. They’re selfless warriors who defend the helpless. Being young, they struggle with the emotions and desires all young people struggle with – fitting in, falling in love, growing up and growing apart from friends. They also become very familiar with betrayal. I liked Marsa as the female lead, but thought Kaylyn and Jorrin were not as developed as needed for the love triangle to work. Aside from Marsa, Tavo and Granny were the most fleshed out of all the characters, and I really liked them.

I also liked the ending, but felt it was a tad confusing. Up until the end, the book reads as a stand alone novel, but then I was left feeling like this story was the first in a series. I also wondered if the final plan that the Zophas enact was something they planned from the beginning, or really was the Hail Mary save they claim. Hmm…

The Bad…:

As stated above, I don’t think that Kaylyn and Jorrin were very developed to make the love triangle work. I think readers are expected to read Ever Darkening, and believe that if I had read it before reading Savage Light, maybe those two would be more complete. However, it would be nice to read only one of the books and feel like the story was complete in its own right.

The Ugly…:

When I began reading the book, I felt very lost. It was like walking in the middle of a movie at the local theater. Who are these people, and why are they fighting? That was just one of the questions I had. I also didn’t understand what the two groups of people, the Zophas and the Malryx, were about. I got that one was good (Zophas) and the other bad (Malryx), but the Zophas appeared to have powers of some kind, yet it was never explained what they were and what they do. There were many other things I didn’t understand as well.

Marsa was obsessed with Jorrin the entire book, and that seemed weird considering she was in a life and death situation. It made her appear simple-minded to be trying to have alone time with a boy when there were things trying to kill her. This was essentially all she thought about, and if not that, then it was about Jorrin and Kaylyn growing closer to one another. The romance just didn’t make sense to me with the rest of the events of the story. I also didn’t understand why Marsa was so obsessed with Jorrin considering he didn’t seem that developed as a character. What’s to like? His moody behavior? Apparent disinterest in Marsa? I don’t get it. Then again, I didn’t understand why Kaylyn was so great, either. Maybe instead of two separate novels, these books should have been written in just one using dual perspective. I think it would have helped me to understand Savage Light a lot better. Or maybe I just should have read the first book first.

Do I Recommend?

Only if you are willing to read both books. I’m not sure if the story would make more sense, or not, but it may help. Aside from the very confusing beginning, I was finally able to get into the story. It just took about 64 pages, because the story’s climax seemed to occur at the beginning of the book. Once I got into the story, I thought it was pretty entertaining. Since I did enjoy most of the book, I give Savage Light 3 out of 5 stars.

starstarstar

About the Author

Janeal Falor

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Email

Amazon best selling author Janeal Falor lives in Utah with her swoon-worthy computer geek husband and three children. In her non-writing time she teaches her kids to make silly faces, cooks whatever strikes her fancy, and attempts to cultivate a garden even when half the things she plants die. When it’s time for a break she can be found taking a scenic drive with her family or drinking hot chocolate.

Leave a Reply

